Revelations from the Deep – FFG Part 10

Revelations from the Deep

Mónos reaches the bottom of the stream
Hands in tatters,
From the pits he’s tried to climb from
Feet swollen,
From the race he has run
Eyes puffy,
Puffy from within,
Arms weak,
From what he’s carried
Back broken,
From his burdens
Head hanging,
In fear of what more lies ahead
To walk some more will just add pain

He cries out,

Lord, I’ve tried so hard
Please pull me out of this dark pit,
From this all-consuming blackness
Please be my strength and my refuge
I’ve fought this fight
Fought the demons all around
Been chained in the arena with these emotions,
Which couldn’t be beat
Sought to find the straight path,
Only to get pushed off
I’ve walked alone,
Trying to see you next to me
But you weren’t there
I’ve felt empty
And you didn’t fill me up
I’ve felt worthless,
Yet you didn’t come to my aid
My emotions betrayed me,
And you didn’t stabilize,
Why can’t I seem to see you in the clouds?
Why does it take sun to see your face?

I want to believe in your presence
But my faith
Seems to drown in the sea of my doubt

Lord, take my doubt so far
Cast it into the depths where it belongs
Lock it in its cage,
To never come out

I want to be content with your presence
Forsaking all else
To find my value in your love
To find my hope in you

Grow my faith like a little seed
Let it sprout just a little more
Soften me to the presence of your hands
So you can shape me
Trim me if you must, for I am ready
Dig up the gunk inside,
And cleanse me clean
Here are my keys
My soul is yours,
To search, to find, and do with as you please
For I am yours,
Please be mine

Leave a comment