Camp #2 (July 2nd-4th)

My team got an opportunity to run a second over the night camp, a 3 day 2 night camp. I helped with the programs for the camp, and just ran around and helped with various other tasks. I had the opportunity to speak twice in front of the campers. I spoke on faith, getting to share about Peter walking on the water, stepping out and trusting the Lord, things that I have stumbled through and seen God grow me through. The second time I spoke I spoke on following the Lord/obedience. This discussion focused on Matthew 22:37-40, loving God and loving others. The previous camp the Lord used me through the camp counselor role, but for this camp the Lord used me in a support role and a role of sharing with the campers.

One of the highlights of the camp for me was on the 2nd day (Friday the 3rd). I wasn’t feeling all that well and went inside to go take a nap. However, I saw some kids doing crafts and decided to join and talk with one kid, Bradley, for a bit. I was able to hear about how his camp was going and see what he was hoping to get out of camp. What he said was, “To know that God is with me.” This hit me hard, because I have wrestled with that a bit in the past, and got to be a part of a camp team that could share that message. He then communicated that he has seen that God is with Him this week. This was so encouraging. For the next hour or so I made paper airplanes with Bradley, another boy, and a girl who was struggling with being homesick all week. They had smiles the whole time, they laughed, and I had a blast as well. Seeing the smile on the girl’s face was heart warming, because she began to relax and just enjoy the time.

This camp was stretching in the sense that we had to create things on the fly, changing programs, structure, recreation time, and competition time. But we were able to still make a big impact with the campers, rather the Lord was able to speak into their lives. This was teh last camp I got to be a part of here in South Africa.

God bless!

Leave a comment