Though I Walk Through the Valley

Lord, do you see me here?

Am I left to die in this place?

Please hear my cry

 

Will I see a day

When I don’t look back

Or sink back to the bottom?

The lows are so low

And the highs?

Well they are merely not the lows

 

Will I finish this race?

I can barely make it a day,

A week

A month

How will I ever make it to the end?

The descent has been unbearable

What is next?

The painful decline from unbearable to…

 

The heart is restless

And clenches for what is to come

With dread for what may vary well arise

Doubt engulfs every thought

 

The heart screams

Yet not even a whisper can be heard

The temptation of the blade

Comes knocking

Thumbs finger the gate towards shame

With fate resting on the sharp edge

 

Will I see tomorrow?

Will I wake to these scars

And hide them from foreign eyes

Only to wish I could unsee them?

 

Lord do you see me here

I am far too weak

And about to break

Can you stop me from myself

And what I am about to do

 

Will the sun shine again?

Will you grace me with your presence again, oh Lord?

Will you carry me to your still waters?

Will you guide this lost and wayward heart?

 

Light has withdrawn

And left the soul to cave

To every thought and scheme

A false hope in death

A fake relief through a bloody release

 

An endless pit

Downward, downward, downward

With each breath, the next one fails

Stuck in this daze

A nightmare with a powerful grip

 

Please forgive me

For I have sinned

I have left your steady hand

To dwell in the darkness

 

I call upon the Cross

The beautiful, wonderful Cross

The pure and holy blood of the Lamb

 

Oh Lord

In this time of need

Please save me

 

I am…

Lost

 

I try and only further push you away

I’m in quicksand

Sinking far too fast

 

Oh Lord, my rock

Please save me.

Leave a comment