Fulfilled in the Mystery

I’ve traveled to the edge of fear

Where hope seems lost

Joy turns to sorrow

And life seems like death…

 

The tug to step over was so strong

But a hand reached out,

Pulling my soul out from these depths

The hand of the Father

Who found me

And saved me

Long ago

 

He walked each step down this path

Hurting with every single one

Wishing I would just look around

And see Him standing there

With a lamp lighting the way home

Where supper was ready

Warm clothes were set out

A cozy fire to curl up by

And a pillow to lay my weary head on

 

“Lord, I’m sorry I have brought you this far

For your glory deserves holiness

Not this stain you have received

But you oh Lord find something in me

A relationship to be had.

Why you continue to pursue me,

An imperfect being,

I will never know.

Why you would give up your own,

I cannot fathom.

Why you suffered,

I cannot understand.

Why you took on shame,

I cannot grasp.

Why you took my stain,

Is a mystery.

Yet you have done it all

Out of your love for me.

 

When the darkness was all around

You were there

Lighting my every way

I can see it now

You never left my side,

I just never looked to see your presence

 

You take me on journeys,

Both joyful and hard,

My life is not about me,

Only you:

For your love to shine like the brightest star

For your hope to break through every cloud

For your joy to cover all sadness

For your glory to shake all around

 

You are God and I am not

You are good,

Both in the light and in the gray

 

Whatever brings you glory,

Lord, I will do it

Whether joy or pain, I will walk in it

I can say this now,

But Lord…

Give me strength to live this out”

 

“You don’t belong there”

A voice comes from the shadows

“Don’t listen to that other man

He does not know you

He does not want you

And in the time of need,

He will be gone.

Come on back…”

 

“My child,

He seeks to deceive you,”

The Father cries out

“For my love for you continues on

I will walk this journey with you

I will connect your broken pieces

And make you new

Believe in me.”

 

Here I stand

At the edge of faith and fear

The choice is mine

To step out upon the water of faith

Or return to the land of fear once more

 

With a single step I’m gone

Into the water away from the shore,

The foundation I’ve known

Where shackles lined the way

 

The water is daunting

So long and so wide

I have no vest

I have no boat

To save me now

Faith is my guide

Faith has overcome the fear

I cannot deny the call of the Father

Calling me on

Away from that foundation I have known far too long

I will die following this call

Yet I choose this path

Because He is enough now

 

I’ve found my end

And His beginning.

Leave a comment